2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship

2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship winnerTata Motors launched the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP in 2014, in Delhi and bought truck racing for the first time in India. Truck racing in India is inscribed on the calendars of FIA (Federation Internationale de l’Automobile) and FMSCI (the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India). This truck racing championship is organised by Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC), with safety and performance standards as per the guidelines of the British Truck Racing Association (BTRA).


2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship
Truck drivers lining up for the Super Class Race

The 2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship came up with another incredible season which was held at BIC last weekend on the race day for three categories –  PRO Class, CHAMPION Class and SUPER Class.

2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship SUPER Class
Truck Number 9 got stuck at the turn, Truck number 8 taking lead

The very first SUPER class race for Indian drivers was won by 29-year old Pitambar, from Uttar Pradesh. The other podium positions were taken up by Shivnihal Singh and Gurujant Singh from Uttar Pradesh. This 10 lap race was packed with a lot of action, close shaves and even some zig-zag sideway halts on the turn just before the straight. The fastest lap time was recorded by Mubarik from Rajasthan, at just 1:50:677.

2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship SUPER classPost SUPPER class, the Champion class race was topped by Nagarjuna A of Andhra Pradesh, followed by Malkeet Singh for the second position and Bhag Chand taking the third position. Post this jaw-dropping race crowd welcomed well-renowned actor, Akshay Kumar, the brand ambassador of TATA Motors commercial vehicles, to flag off the PRO Class category race.

2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship Akshay KumarPRO class comprised of Internationally acclaimed drivers from FIA’s European Truck Racing Championship (ETRC) for the very first time, T1’s very first woman truck racer, Stephanie Halm from Germany. She finished at 8th position. PRO class was won by Czech Republic racer, David Vrsecky. Nobert Kiss (Hungary) of Team Tata Technologies Motorsport and Gerhard Korber (Germany) of Dealer Warriors took the first and second runner-up position respectively.





2017 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 1000 hpCountry’s fastest race truck, the 1000 bhp T1 PRIMA Race Truck, was also showcased, which clocked the fastest lap time of 1:35.674. The fastest lap time clocked in 400 bhp race truck in season 4 was 1:47.204 set by David Vrsecky.



To provide a day long entertainment-cum-race-weekend event there were performances by singers Garima Yajnik, Siddharth Mahadevan, KK and budding singing superstars from Saregamapa Little Champs.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.